Incident Reports

Oli group burns effigies of UML-elected Dang MPs


Lumbini, Dang, Tulsipur

Cadres affiliated with CPN-UML's Chairperson KP Sharma Oli burnt the effigies of UML-elected members of the House of Representatives from Dang. They burnt the effigy of Hirachandra KC, elected from Dang constituency no.3 and of Metmani Chaudhary, elected from Constituency No. 1. Both of them had given a vote of confidence to Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba on July 18.

The protest was organized by the Youth Association and ANNFSU at Madan Asrit-Chowk in Tulsipur on July 19 evening. Earlier, UML senior leader Tulsipur had chanted slogans against senior leader Madhav Kumar Nepal and UCPN (Maoist) Central Committee Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal, members of the House of Representatives KC and Chaudhary.

Details and Impacts
Violent / Non-violent Nonviolent
Primary Form Other forms of non-violent protest
Primary Cause Contestation over Constitution and federal restructuring
Actor 1 - Number of people n/a
Actor 1 - Affiliations UML and affiliated org
Actor 1 - Youth na
Actor 2 - Number of people 2
Actor 2 - Affiliation (Target) UML and affiliated org
Actor 2 - Youth na
National/Online Media